GRADUATE COUNCIL MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF JANUARY 18, 2018 3:30 P.M., GUC LOFT

The UNA Graduate Council met at 3:30 p.m. on Thursday, January 18, 2018, in the GUC 200. The following members were present: Dr. Leah Whitten (presiding in absence of Dr. Amber Paulk) Dr. Joy Borah, Dr. Tammy Winner, Dr. Chanho Kang, Dr. Wendy Darby, Joshua Wood, Dr. Tera Kirkman (proxy for Dr. Lynn Aquadro), Dr. George Makowski, Dr. Ryan Zayac (proxy for Dr. Amber Paulk), Dr. Jana Beaver, Jennifer Hogan

Presenters/Guests: Dr. Beth Sewell, Mrs. Hillary Coats

Approval of the minutes of the meeting of October 19, 2017

On motion by Dr. Darby and second by Dr. Zayac, the motion was unanimously approved.

Report from the Graduate Advisory Council

Dr. Sewell reported that the Graduate Advisory Council will be meeting the following week. At this time there is no update to report.

<u>Consideration of Graduate Faculty Application for Dr. Joel Anderson, Dr. John Lancaster, Dr. Kevin Stoltz, Ms. Jennifer Pate</u>

On motion by Dr. Kirkman and second by Dr. Darby, the motion was unanimously approved.

<u>Information Item: We have found a typo in the graduate catalog in relation to Public History. The non-thesis option for students states 12 elective hours and it is actually 6. The typo was fixed for the 16-17 catalog.</u>

There was no discussion on this matter.

Consideration of the request from Academic Affairs for the proposed Accelerated Bachelor's/Master's Program (AMP).

Mrs. Hillary Coates presented. On motion by Dr. Beaver and second by Dr. Winner, the motion was unanimously approved.

Consideration of the request from the Department of Secondary Education to crosslist course EDS 707 with IL 707 and the consideration of the request from the Department of Secondary Education to crosslist course EDS 710 with IL 710.

On motion by Dr. Makowski and second by Dr. Darby, the motion was unanimously approved.

Consideration of the requests from the Preparing Future Faculty (PFF) Program for proposed new courses UNA 500, Preparing Future Faculty I, UNA 501, Preparing Future Faculty II, and UNA 502, Preparing Future Faculty III.

On motion by Dr. Beaver and second by Dr. Darby, the motion was unanimously approved.

| Dr. Amber Paulk, Chairperson |
|------------------------------|